Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Help wanted for 3D printer selection (comprehensive details provided)
Hello everyone,

I work as a laboratory assistant in motor psychology, and our main goal is to make various and numerous
plastic stimuli for testing visuo-motor cognitive processes. For this reason, we know exactly what we would require
from a 3D printer, and I am hoping that you guys will be able to offer valuable feedback, or at least point us
to the right direction.

Not looking for :

-Anything that produces objects larger than 20x20x20 (cm)
-Colours (indifferent)
-Huge material range (indifferent)

Looking for : (preferences numbered in order of importance)

1. Quality of build (identical replication consistency is a must)
2. Non-warping
3. We will be using force sensors inside the printer objects - a printer that can print hollow objects and close them sounds ideal
4. Possible ease of use (the printer itself, we don't mind about the design software, that can be learnt)

Other details :

Budget range : 2,000-3,000 (either £ or $) (approximately, will consider flexible deviations from that price range)
Printer size : Desktop, or even larger (if desktop does not meet the above requirements)

Apologies for the amount of information, but that may actually help anyone willing to aid us in our selection.
We would also appreciate some information on what type of printer would best suit our needs (SLS, FDM etc)

Thanks and looking forward to any replies!
Hello Diterpenoid,
you may want to check out my answer to http://forum.3ders.org/showthread.php?tid=161 .

That sounds like a really interesting application, if you are willing to share some info, I'd be interested.

Most cheap printers have a smaller print area, what would be the minimum? You can also glue things or turn them 45 degree to fit them on smaller build areas, that is how I do it.

As for your "wish-list":