Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Best software for a beginner?
imagiqc Offline
Informant

Best software for a beginner?
Hi, I'm a 42 year old father of 6 and I'm looking to get into 3-d printing and CNC machining. I have some experience as a CNC Machine Operator, and I know the basics of programming computers.
I'm looking to get started one baby step at a time, so my first concern is the software side of things. What software would you all recommend for someone new to the field? I'm looking to eventually create both artistic objects (small figurines) and practical objects (legos, guitar picks, etc.) But I want them to be of my own design. So I figure I need to learn the software/design aspect first.
Any suggestions?
02-14-2013 09:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zephyrean Offline
Informant

RE: Best software for a beginner?
Hi! I am also a beginner, and to be honest, I am using the program found on blender.org. It is a free software. I am going to continue to use it until I feel like I am ready to go on to bigger and better things. For now, it is a great learning tool!
02-28-2013 01:21 PM
imagiqc Offline
Informant

For 3d modeling fun, you should try Sculptris, as well. the user interface is fairly intuitive, and made by the same folks that make Zbrush, a higher end 3d modeling program. It's not for calculating paths, or actual manufacturing of any kind. Just for 3d graphics manipulation. But it's fun to play with.
02-28-2013 10:22 PM
rudalf Offline
Informant

I think you should search it over net for better help and reviews on it.

http://www.3dprintingservice.us/
http://www.3dscanningservices.us/
03-04-2013 10:22 AM
VDX Offline
Junior 3Der

... for manipulating and creating mesh-based objects you can use MeshMixer: http://www.meshmixer.com/
03-05-2013 09:33 AM
Marcus Offline
Informant

That's probably the hardest question when starting 3D printing, sometimes more difficult then on choosing your 3D printer :-)